Recently Viewed

New

Red Queen: Collector's Edition by Victoria Aveyard

No reviews yet Write a Review
RRP: £9.99
£4.62
Booksplease saves you

  Delivery: We ship to over 200 countries!
  Range: Millions of books available
  Reviews: Booksplease rated "Excellent" on Trustpilot

SKU:
9781409150725
Weight:
430.00 Grams
Available from Booksplease!
Availability: Usually dispatched within 2 working days

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. VAT
Total: Ex. VAT

Description

The first novel in the multimillion-copy, #1 New York Times bestselling RED QUEEN series by TikTok sensation Victoria Aveyard.

'All hail Victoria Aveyard - the new Queen of dystopian fiction' GUARDIAN

THIS IS A WORLD DIVIDED BY BLOOD - RED OR SILVER.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare's potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance - Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart . . .
__________________

'Exhilarating. Compelling. Action-packed. Unputdownable' USA TODAY
__________________

Read the international bestselling RED QUEEN series in full:

Book 1: RED QUEEN
Book 2: GLASS SWORD
Book 3: KING'S CAGE
Book 4: WAR STORM
Book 5: BROKEN THRONE (AN EXCLUSIVE RED QUEEN COLLECTION)

READERS LOVE THE RED QUEEN SERIES:

'Will grab you from the first page, and you'll be unable to put it down, right until the bitter end ... You will feel all the feels. You will rage. You will cry. You will even laugh. You'll love characters even more, get to know new ones, and dread leaving the world yet again' -


'I chose this book over sleep more than once ... This book really did have me pumped full of adrenaline at 2am unable to put it down' -


'The most amazing ending which has kept me desperate for the past year ... yet again I have been left a desperate puddle in need of the fourth and final book in this amazing series!' -


'Breathtaking ... Each chapter is flawless. There doesn't seem to a wasted line, or word for that matter!' -

A thrilling new fantasy trilogy for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.

About the Author

Victoria Aveyard was born and raised in East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, a small town known only for the worst traffic rotary in the continental United States. She moved to Los Angeles to earn a BFA in screenwriting at the University of Southern California. She currently splits her time between the East and West coasts. As an author and screenwriter, she uses her career as an excuse to read too many books and watch too many movies.

Find out more at www.victoriaaveyard.com or follow her on Twitter @VictoriaAveyard



Reviews
An incredible start to an electrifying new series . . . Red Queen is a fantastic debut which makes me extremely enthusiastic about the rest of the books to come . . . If you're going to pick up a book, pick this one up. * THE GUARDIAN ONLINE *
"A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists." * SCI-FI NOW *
"A whirlwind of betrayal and plot twists." * SCI-FI NOW *
All hail Victoria Aveyard - the new Queen of dystopian fiction. * THE GUARDIAN CHILDRENS BOOKS *
"It's slick, it's interesting and ... gripping." * SFX *
"It's slick, it's interesting and ... gripping." * SFX *
'Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent.' * STARBURST *
'Red Queen is a clever blend of The Hunger Games, The Selection, Graceling and Divergent.' * STARBURST *
Red Queen... Where do I start? As I sit here after closing the book just this second, with a shocked, enthralled, amazed brooding look on my face I think its safe to say that this book has royally floored me... If you're having hangovers over the Divergent series, or having withdrawal symptoms from the Hunger Games then this is the book that will get you out of that funk. * DARK READERS *
Red Queen... Where do I start? As I sit here after closing the book just this second, with a shocked, enthralled, amazed brooding look on my face I think its safe to say that this book has royally floored me... If you're having hangovers over the Divergent series, or having withdrawal symptoms from the Hunger Games then this is the book that will get you out of that funk. * DARK READERS *
Unique and amazing . . . filled with twists and turns throughout. I'd definitely recommend this book to anyone as it is a great read and I can't wait for the sequel to be released. * THEGUARDIAN.COM *
"In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice." * We Love This Book *
"In Red Queen Victoria Aveyard has delivered a clever, slick and compelling debut. The dystopian novel will please fans of The Hunger Games but uses a supernatural twist to explore the theme of social injustice." * We Love This Book *
Trust us when we say that it will have you up late at night trying to finish the next chapter, next page, next line - or maybe the whole thing because this book is impossible to put down. * MAXIMUM POP! *
Aveyard weaves a compelling new world, and Mare and the two men in her life evolve intriguingly as class tension rises. Revolution supersedes romance, setting the stage for action-packed surprises. An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends. * KIRKUS *
Aveyard weaves a compelling new world, and Mare and the two men in her life evolve intriguingly as class tension rises. Revolution supersedes romance, setting the stage for action-packed surprises. An inventive, character-driven twist breathes new life into tired fantasy trends. * KIRKUS *
'A wonderful mash up of Ancient Rome and Marie Antoinette with a dash of Catherine Fisher's Incarceron and Ridley Scott's Gladiator, not to mention some of Marvel Comic's box of tricks . . . Exciting and original. * Sam Hawksmoor, author of the Repossession Trilogy *
'A wonderful mash up of Ancient Rome and Marie Antoinette with a dash of Catherine Fisher's Incarceron and Ridley Scott's Gladiator, not to mention some of Marvel Comic's box of tricks . . . Exciting and original. * Sam Hawksmoor, author of the Repossession Trilogy *
"Victoria Aveyard is a genuinely good writer... a dark gripping book that grips and surprises the reader." * THE BOOKBAG *
"Victoria Aveyard is a genuinely good writer... a dark gripping book that grips and surprises the reader." * THE BOOKBAG *
This is the first book I read in 2015 and I'm glad I began the year with a book outside my comfort zone because I truly, truly enjoyed. * EMMALOUBOOKBLOG *
This is the first book I read in 2015 and I'm glad I began the year with a book outside my comfort zone because I truly, truly enjoyed. * EMMALOUBOOKBLOG *
I enjoyed this book immensely... the plot of the book was well executed, the twists creeped up on me slowly but surely. The atmosphere Aveyard created was perfect. * BOOKSFORBIRDS *
I enjoyed this book immensely... the plot of the book was well executed, the twists creeped up on me slowly but surely. The atmosphere Aveyard created was perfect. * BOOKSFORBIRDS *
"Red Queen simply blew me away... an exquisite debut from Aveyard, usually it takes a few books for an author to become a favourite, but Aveyard has managed to become a favourite with just one book." * The Readers Den *
"Red Queen simply blew me away... an exquisite debut from Aveyard, usually it takes a few books for an author to become a favourite, but Aveyard has managed to become a favourite with just one book." * The Readers Den *
'Red Queen is a debut bursting with betrayal, jealousy, love and rebellion and it's fantastic. YA fantasy is really on the up at the moment and Victoria Aveyard is going to be one of the leaders of the pack.' * SO LITTLE TIME FOR BOOKS *
'Red Queen is a debut bursting with betrayal, jealousy, love and rebellion and it's fantastic. YA fantasy is really on the up at the moment and Victoria Aveyard is going to be one of the leaders of the pack.' * SO LITTLE TIME FOR BOOKS *
A fantastic debut, with a perfect balance of epic, action filled scenes, cunning characters, mystery and a creative plot, RED QUEEN is a definite favourite and I cannot wait for more from this author * WHAT DANIELLE DID NEXT *



Book Information
ISBN 9781409150725
Author Victoria Aveyard
Format Paperback
Page Count 416
Imprint Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
Publisher Orion Publishing Co
Weight(grams) 290g
Dimensions(mm) 196mm * 128mm * 30mm

Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review

Booksplease  Reviews


M - 06/03

One of the best online booksellers out there.

I always check Booksplease before looking at other online sellers because in many instances, particularly with older titles, their books are a lot cheaper. There is added postage, but when you add this to the overall cost you are still spending less than you would otherwise pay elsewhere.

M - 06/03

K - 06/03

Great all round

Easy to navigate website, my purchase was delivered really quickly, in perfect condition and at a very reasonable price. Will use this service again,

K - 06/03

R - 28/04

Had a few order with them

Had a few order with them. Arrived quickly and were as described. Price is a bargain. Will definitely use again

R - 28/04

M - 14/03

Love the £1.99 postage for whatever

Love the £1.99 postage for whatever/ however many you buy. Couldn't believe the books were brand new for the price. Quick delivery. Hard to believe it's such a good deal for buyers. pay elsewhere.

M - 14/03